Always a Free Case Evaluation
(608) 204-5807 - email@example.com
Property Crime Charges
Property crimes are just as they sound, crimes against someone else’s property. There is a large range of charges from shoplifting to arson to bank robbery. Every property crime charge has the potential to carry significant penalties such as imprisonment and large fines. Whether you take, damage, destroy, or trespass on an individual’s property without consent, you may be charged with one of Wisconsin’s many property crimes. These crimes are defined under Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 943 “Crimes Against Property” and are divided into four subchapters.
Defending against a property crime charge takes an attorney who knows the laws. Knowing what the state has to prove in these type of cases is important. Even when you admit to the charge, a property crime attorney can help mitigate the penalties associated with a property crime conviction.
Property Crime penalty range
If you are charged with a Wisconsin property crime you need to speak with an attorney who will fight for you. A conviction will have serious consequences. Not only direct penalties associated with the conviction, but potential employment consequences as well. A few of Wisconsin property crime penalties are determined by the value of the property stolen or destroyed. Theft can be charged anywhere from an ordinance violation to a felony For example, a theft of property who’s value is more than $2,500 is considered a felony. Similarly, criminal damage to property penalties are based on the value of the property. Other property crimes such arson, burglary, identity theft and robbery are felonies despite the value of property. Below is a general idea of where you may be charged depending on the value of the property.
If the value of the property is less than $2,500 then you may be facing a Class A Misdemeanor where the maximum penalties are 9 months in jail and a $10,000 fine.
If the value of the property is between $2,500 and $5,000 you may be facing a Class I Felony where the Maximum penalties are 3 1/2 years imprisonment and a fine of $10,000.
If the value of the property is between $5,000 and $10,000 you may be facing a Class H Felony where the maximum penalties are 6 years imprisonment and a fine of $10,000.
If the value of the property is over $10,000 you may be facing a Class G Felony where the maximum penalties are 10 imprisonment and a fine of $25,000.