Wisconsin OWI Sentencing Guidelines play a major part in OWI sentencing. Judges in Wisconsin base their sentence in part on the guidelines for their district. However, it is important to remember that you will only face the judge if you are convicted. Although DUI cases can be tough to win, do not take a conviction as a sure thing. The drunk driving lawyers at Anderson & O'Connell, S.C. are here to provide an aggressive OWI defense to your charges. Review the information below regarding OWI sentencing guidelines and contact us today with any questions.

Range of Drunk Driving Penalties Can Vary From County to County

Penalties in drunk driving cases are mandated by statute. However, when it comes to DUI cases, different counties in Wisconsin may have different penalty structures. Every county in Wisconsin has a circuit court that handles criminal cases. These Circuit Courts are grouped into ten judicial districts. Each of these districts have drafted OWI Sentencing Guidelines based on Wisconsin OWI laws. These guidelines are used to assist the court in sentencing in drunk driving cases. In addition to the OWI sentencing guidelines, each county has their own set of rules and policies for OWI offenses. The purpose of the OWI sentencing guidelines is to maintain consistency among different branches of the court.

Are OWI Sentencing Guidelines Mandatory?

The OWI sentencing guidelines do not require any particular sentence outside of the mandatory minimums established by statute. Additionally, various aggravating and mitigating factors may be of significance. Every case is different and the facts of each case will be considered before a sentence is determined. Specific factors include the BAC, whether there was an accident, and whether or not the individual has completed an AODA assessment prior to sentencing. Judges have discretion in evaluating the facts and circumstances of each case. Therefore, these guidelines identify many of the significant criteria considered by courts when imposing a sentence.

OWI Sentencing Guidelines in Wisconsin
Free Consultations
Call today to start your defense

Madison, WI Drunk Driving Lawyers Who Know Drunk Driving Penalties

It is important to have an OWI defense attorney to that knows the sentencing guidelines and how each county handles their OWI cases. The drunk driving lawyers at Anderson & O'Connell, S.C. have the knowledge and experience to defend your drunk driving case.  Understanding Wisconsin's OWI sentencing guidelines is an important part of obtaining a fair sentence. All too often we see individuals get sentenced to stiffer penalties because their attorney failed to know the system. Our clients don't have that problem. We know DUI penalty structure and how to obtain the best results.

Links to OWI Sentencing Guidelines by Judicial District

You will see that many of these OWI sentencing guidelines include different penalty ranges and fines. These guidelines will also give you an idea if OWI treatment court is available, or if probation is allowed. You will find information about penalties for certain BAC levels. Potential forfeitures, surcharges, court costs, double fines when a Minor is involved, ignition interlock device, and other provisions allowed by Court order.

1st Judicial District - Milwaukee County

2nd Judicial District - Kenosha, Racine, and Walworth Counties

3rd Judicial District - Dodge, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Washington, and Waukesha counties

4th Judicial District - Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Manitowoc, Marquette, Sheboygan, Waushara, and Winnebago counties

5th Judicial District - Columbia, Dane, Green, Lafayette, Rock, and Sauk counties

7th Judicial District - Adams, Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau, and Vernon counties

8th Judicial District - Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, and Waupaca counties

9th Judicial District - Florence, Forest, Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menominee, Oneida, Portage, Price, Shawano, Taylor, Vilas, and Wood counties

10th Judicial District - Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, and Washburn counties