A misdemeanor charge in Wisconsin is punishable by up to a year in the county jail. A felony on the other hand is a criminal charge that is punishable by imprisonment in a Wisconsin state prison. Every other crime is considered a misdemeanor. In addition to a potential jail sentence, misdemeanor charges have the potential for fines of $10,000. Misdemeanors are very common criminal charges in Wisconsin. Although they are not as serious as a felony charge they do have significant consequences.
Defending against Misdemeanor Charges in Wisconsin
A misdemeanor charge is a serious and stressful matter. Do not think that just because it is a misdemeanor, instead of a felony, that a conviction will not have significant consequences. Misdemeanor convictions can be punishable up to a year in jail, a $10,000 fine, lose of driving privileges and in some cases a prohibition from ever possessing a firearm. Furthermore, the collateral consequences of a conviction can have an effect on your family and career.
We have successfully defended numerous misdemeanor cases. We know that every criminal charge is a serious matter that deserves attention. We will work with you to determine what the best resolution is and will fight to obtain that result. We have a solid understanding of the law and procedures needed to achieve the best results.
How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record?
A conviction for an classification of misdemeanor in Wisconsin will technically stay on your record for ever. That is unless the conviction gets expunged or is vacated. A misdemeanor in Wisconsin can be expunged if you are under the age of 25 at the time of the offense and the judge finds expungement is appropriate at the time of sentencing.
Madison, WI Misdemeanor Defense Attorney
Any conviction in Wisconsin can have significant consequences. Even if it is a Class C, the fact that it is a crime can have problems associated with it. Contact Madison’s misdemeanor defense attorneys today to see what we can do for you.
Class A Misdemeanors in Wisconsin
A Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin is punishable by not more than nine months in jail a fine of $10,000. Most misdemeanor charges in Wisconsin are classified as Class A. Criminal charges such as Battery, Criminal Damage to Property as well as Theft can be Class A misdemeanors. It is common for a judge to place someone on probation for these types of charges. For a single misdemeanor, the maximum amount of probation is one year.
Class B Misdemeanors in Wisconsin
The penalties for a Class B misdemeanor in Wisconsin is not more than ninety days in jail and a fine of $1,000. Disorderly Conduct is a common Class B charge. Even though these penalties are not significant, penalty enhancers can raise the potential penalties associated with a conviction. For example, a Domestic Abuse enhancer adds a mandatory $100 to the total fine and court costs.
Class C Misdemeanors in Wisconsin
A Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of $500 and up to thirty days in jail. There are not many crimes in this category, and a Class C is the lowest punishable crime in Wisconsin. However, A Class C Misdemeanor is still and crime and may have collateral consequences associated with it.
Class U Misdemeanors in Wisconsin
A Class U Misdemeanor is an unclassified misdemeanor. Depending on the crime charged, the penalties will vary. For example, a second offense OWI in Wisconsin is a Class U misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail. A charge of possession of cocaine is also a Class U misdemeanor which is punishable by up to a year in jail.
Misdemeanor Defense Lawyers in Dane County, WI
Anderson & O’Connell, S.C. have represented countless individuals charged with a misdemeanors in Wisconsin. Any type of criminal charge has serious consequences. Our attorneys can represent you in court. Find out what we can do for you.